Czech Republic

The Czech Republic is located in the very center of Europe. For this reason, it is sometimes called the “Heart of Europe”. The capital city of the Czech Republic is Prague. By many travelers and polls recognized as one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

The Czech Republic is bordered by Germany to the west, Austria to the south, Slovakia to the east and Poland to the northeast. The total area of the Czech Republic is 78,866 square kilometers (approx. 30,450 sq miles). It has over 10.5 million inhabitants.

The Czech Republic was established on 1 January 1993, after a peaceful dissolution of the former Czech and Slovak Federal Republic (commonly known as Czechoslovakia). From historic perspective, the Czech state was formed in the late 9th century as the Duchy of Bohemia – which later became part of the Holy Roman Empire.


Historic Centre of Český Krumlov

Panorama Cesky Krumlov. Castle, Tower, St. Vitus Church in cityscape Cesky Krumlov, Czech republic. Sunny autumn day. UNESCO World Heritage Site

Historic Centre of Prague

Charles Bridge and Prague Castle, view from the Charles Bridge tower, Czech Republic

Lednice-Valtice Cultural Landscape

Front View of Lednice Castle at Sunset, UNESCO World Heritage, Czech Republic

Historic Centre of Telč

Jewish Quarter and St Procopius' Basilica in Třebíč

Kutná Hora: Historical Town Centre with the Church of St Barbara and the Cathedral of Our Lady at Sedlec

Gardens and Castle at Kroměříž

Flower gardens in Kromeriz - Czech Republic

Holy Trinity Column in Olomouc

Pilgrimage Church of St John of Nepomuk at Zelená Hora

Pilgrimage church of Saint John of Nepomuk at Zelena Hora, Zdar nad Sazavou, Czech Republic is the final work of a famous baroque architect Jan Santini Aichel

Holašovice Historic Village

Holasovice in Czech Republic - old village on UNESCO heritage list

Litomyšl Castle

Other Cultural Heritage Sites

Karlstejn castle panorama