Slovakia is located in Central Europe. The capital city of Slovakia is Bratislava. It is bordered by the Czech Republic to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east, Austria to the south-west, and Hungary to the south. The total area of the Slovakia is around 49,000 square kilometers (approx. 19,000 sq miles). It has about 5 million inhabitants.
History of Slovak state spans back to the 9th century when the Principality of Nitra was established. In the 10th century, the territory was integrated into the Kingdom of Hungary. Later, the Kingdom of Hungary and with it Slovak territory became part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire which dissolved after the WW1 and Czechoslovakia was founded. Today’s Slovakia was established on 1 January 1993, after a peaceful dissolution of Czechoslovakia.



Bardejov Town Centre

Levoča, Spišský Hrad and the Associated Cultural Monuments

Spis castle

Historic Town of Banská Štiavnica and the Technical Monuments in its Vicinity

Slovakia - Banska Stiavnica, Calvary

Wooden Churches of the Slovak part of the Carpathian Mountain Area

Vlkolínec (Colorful houses in old traditional village)



Bratislava panorama - Slovakia

Oravský Castle

Beautiful Slovakia castle at sunrise - Oravsky hrad

Trenčínský Castle

Castle Trencin in Slovakia

Košice Cathedral

Kosice, Cathedral of St. Elizabeth,  Slovakia